Dexterous and Deft

Yesterday was one of those days where friends, colleagues and family were strangely selfish, plans fell flat and almost everyone I encountered was difficult and abrasive. Add to this the monsoon which is frankly trying with it’s overcast clouds, 98% humidity and a three-hour power breakdown. Give me the blazing heat of summer any day. 
“Gray day. Everything is gray. I watch. But nothing moves today.” -Dr. Seuss
Today, however, the skies are blue and a little wind is tossing around the leaves of the trees. I feel I can breathe again. I need sunshine. Sunshine makes me happy.

People aren’t always going to think about your needs. They aren’t even always going to be polite. And while  I understand this with my brain, I feel hurt by their behaviour. The key to ensuring you don’t have an emotional reaction to people is to understand their behaviour from their point of view. After all, they’re not here to fulfil your wishes. And we don’t need to let our mood dip because somebody cancels a plan last minute, or forgets to phone to say she isn’t coming after all, or makes a hostile remark about your age because she herself hasn’t sorted some stuff out in her head.  At one level all those actions are impolite, and it’s perfectly reasonable to feel disrespected, uncared for and unloved. What did I learn from yesterday? 
Although unhappy at the way I was being treated, I don’t think it’s appropriate to confront a depressed friend with evidence of her careless behaviour or to sulk with a colleague who’s been less than considerate. I could have escalated things in either of those situations. But I prefer not to. I prefer to give them the benefit of the doubt and to work on doing something kind for myself. If other people don’t give you what you need, give it to yourself.
What can you do to make you feel better when others around you are behaving as if you don’t matter?
You can make yourself matter. If someone cancels something you can enjoy having the extra time, phone another friend, or do something else. If someone doesn’t cancel and just doesn’t turn up, well then, again you have a little time to relax, do nothing or read. 
What can turn that unexpected time into a gift instead of a gap is how you look at it. If we sulk and rant and shout, the time passes us by and we’re stressed and upset. If we acknowledge the irritation but decide to make the most of it then we can dash off to buy cupcakes, repot the roses, catch up with a friend, or listen to the news. 
“You’ll get mixed up, of course, as you already know. You’ll get mixed up with many strange birds as you go. So be sure when you step. Step with care and great tact and remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act. Just never forget to be dexterous and deft. And never mix up your right foot with your left.” Dr Seuss. Oh, the Places You’ll Go!
 

Published by Kalpana

Writes, hides, writes again, reads, walks, plays with cats, gardens, dances, dreams, advises, takes photos, loves, loses, does yoga, wins, drives, imagines, plants, writes.

8 thoughts on “Dexterous and Deft

  1. Agree with you completely! Had read this… We have the power to choose what we do next. No-one else controls you, and you control no-one else. You control you!! Letting go of negative, angry thoughts is in our control.

    Like

  2. you brought about a very relevant emotion that human beings always undergo. And yes its strange that we know it all and yet react. What Dr Seuss says is always correct and likewise this time too the quote remained the best crux of the situation. The photograph actually expressed the relief change of atmosphere brought to you. In the end I would say that writing makes things better, writing away negativity would help provide solace to your heart. So always do that 🙂 Richa

    Like

  3. I know that sulking is surely not the solution… but i have to say that I believe in just saying things and make myself heard.. how I say it ofcourse depends on the situation and sensitivity.. but i do have to learn how to control at times .. O_O

    Like

  4. Kalpana, I agree with you. But a thing I have learnt is that we need to express ourselves. Not rudely but firmly and convey when someone has hurt us. Express yourself and then let it go. We think it is best not to talk lest we confront them, but if we dont then wont understand or realize that are being rude.

    Like

  5. Sulking never gets you anywhere. The sooner you can get yourself out of that space the better. Seeing something unexpected on the unpleasant side as a gift is a great suggestion.Have a great, sunny day! :)Greetings from Sweden/ UBSStella

    Like

Leave a comment